Israel: 054-321-6176 / USA - 210-820-3070 alan@weinkrantz.com

#140Conf NY Update – April 20 -21, 2010 / 92nd Y / NYC – Media please apply for press credentials

The 140 Characters Conference: New York City (#140conf) will be taking place April 20-21, 2010 at the 92nd Street Y. This event will be the largest worldwide gathering of people interested in the effects of the real-time Internet on both business and “we” the people. 

Jeff Pulver believes that we are experiencing the first stages of a major communication revolution. What many people today refer to as “Social Media” he believes is really a primitive for a new way we will communicate in the future. In fact, the systemic effects of the advent of social media will be felt for a long time after the term “social media” is no longer trendy.

IP based communications continues to evolve and our future social networks will one day help define how people are seamlessly discovered when someone originates a call to them. Business communication methods are transforming. The advent of social communications is having a direct effect on company/client/consumer/vendor/fan relationships. It has been a quite a while since our business ecosystems have been effected so quickly and so deeply then what we have already felt and will be felt in the weeks, months and years ahead.

Delegates attending #140conf NYC will have a first had oppotunity to take in the changes underway by hearing about how the real-time internet is effecting a wide number of industries and by taking advantage of the opportunity to connect face to face with the community at large.

Jeff’s has been working on the content for the upcoming #140conf for the past few months. 

The preliminary schedule for #140conf NYC is now available for preview here.
If you are thinking about attending #140conf NYC, now would be a great time to secure your seat. With the “early bird” ticket costing only US$ 100 for the two day event, register NOW to guarantee youself access to the event.  To register – please click here.
“Early Bird” Registration ends on March 6th.
Media, please apply for credentials here.
Some of the 140+ “Characters” speaking at #140conf NYC include:

– AJ Leon, co-creator #twitterkids (@ajleon)
– Alexis Maybank, Co-Founder and Chief Strategy Officer of Gilt Groupe (@giltfounder)
– Alf LaMont, The Comedy Store (@Alflamont) 
– Alon Nir (@TheKotel)
– Amanda Wernick, REALTOR Associate, Licensed: CA (@funomenalrealtr)
– Andrea Syrtash, Oprah.com contributor and author (@AndreaSyrtash)
– Angela Gruszka, Public Relations Director at ABC Carpet and Home (@ABC_Carpet)
– Angela Shelton (@angelashelton)
– Ann Curry, NBC News (@AnnCurry)
– Aparna Vashisht, Founder, Parentella (@Parentella) 
– Avner Ronen, CEO/founder, boxee (@avneron)
– Bijan Sabet, partner, Spark Capital (@bijan)
– Bob Watson (@TopBrokerOC)
– Brad Hunstable, co-founder, Ustream.tv, (@bhunstable)
– Bruce Upbin, Managing Editor, Forbes (@bupbin)
– C.C. Chapman (@cc_chapman)
– Caissie St.Onge, (@Caissie) 
– Cathy Brooks (@CathyBrooks)
– Chris Bartlett (@harveymilk)
– Chris Lehmann, Principal of the Science Leadership Academy, (@chrislehmann)
– Chris Weingarten, Music Critic, (@1000TimesYes)
– Daren Forsyth, Founder, 140Characters.co.uk, (@DarenBBC)
– Dave Winer, Software developer, Entrepreneur, Writer and NYU scholar (@davewiner)
– David DeVore, Dad, David After Dentist (@daviddentist)
– Deirdre Sullivan, Principal / Social Media  (@GrittyPrettyPR)
– Dennis Crowley, co-founder, Four Square (@dens)
– Diane Guercio, REALTOR, Boston, MA (@HeyAmaretto)
– Donny Deutsch (@Donny_Deutsch)
– Eric Sheninger, Principal of New Milford HS (NJ), (@NMHS_Principal)
– Eric Stegemann, Broker, Licensed: MO (@EricStegemann) –
– FakeJerry Paffendorf, Artist, futurist, entrepreneur. (@WELLO)
– Gary Vanderchuck, Wine guy, host of Wine Library TV, (@garyvee)
– Gavin Purcell, Producer, Late Night with Jimmy Fallon (@gavinpurcell)
– Grace Bonney, Design Blogstress (@designsponge)
– Hank Wasiak, Executive Producer and Co-Founder, The Concept Farm, (@hankwasiak)
– Ivanka Trump (@IvankaTrump)
– Jacob Soboroff, @AMCnews Correspondent and Executive Director of @WhyTuesday, a nonpartisan election reform group, (@jacobsoboroff)
– Jay Rosen, Journalism professor, NYU (@jayrosen_nyu)
– Jeff Jarvis, blogger, author, professor (@JeffJarvis)
– Jeff Keni Pulver (@jeffpulver) – Creator, #140conf
– Jeffrey Hayzlett, CMO, Kodak (@jeffreyHayzlett)
– Jeffrey Sass, founder, Invitations (@sass) – 
– Jessica Gottlieb (@JessicaGottlieb)
– Joan Walsh, Editor of Salon, (@joanwalsh)
– Joe Randazzo (@Randazzoj)
– Joe Trippi, has used Twitter to track and encourage participation in election reform from the United States to Zimbabwe. (@JoeTrippi)
– John Bell, Managing Director, Ogilvy’s 360 Digital Influence practice  (@jbell99)
– John Bernier, Social Media Manager at Best Buy. (@twelpforce) 
– John Borthwick, CEO, Betaworks (@JohnBorthwick)
– Jonathan Maberry, author, writing teacher and lecturer. (@JonathanMaberry)
– Jonathan Markwell (@jot)
– Josh Williams, Founder, CEO, Gowalla (@jw)
– Joshua Fouts, Cultural relations futurist at the crossroads of emergent media, digital diplomacy, games, virtual worlds and storytelling. (@josholalia) –
– Julie Spira, Author, dating coach (@JulieSpira)
– Kathleen Hessert (@kathleenhessert)
– Kelly Sutton (@KellySutton)
– Kevin Jarrett,  K-4 Technology Teacher (@kjarrett)
– Kyle Pace, Instructional/Consumer Technology Specialist, (@kylepace)
– Lacy Kemp (@RealTweeter)
– Lauren Litwinka (@beebow)
– Leslie Fram – co-host Morning Show, WRXP-FM 101.9, New York City
– Lisa Cohen (@cohills)
– Lisa Nielsen (@InnovativeEdu) – Educational Technologist – NYC Dept of Ed
– Liz Strauss, Founder of SOBCon, brand strategist, (@lizstrauss)
– Luke Renner (@firesideint)
– Maegan Carberry (@maegancarberry)
– Mary Beth Hertz (@mbteach) – K-6 Computer Teacher and Technology Teacher Leader in Philadelphia
– Matt Pinfield, Morning Show on 101.9 RXP, (@mattpinfield)
– Matthew Bishop, The Economist, (@mattbish)
– Maya Bisineer (@thinkmaya)
– Maya Paveza (@mayaREguru) – Realtor, DE/PA
– Maz Nadjm, Social networking at Sky Television, (@Mazi)
– MC Hammer (@MCHammer)
– Melinda Emerson, entrepreneur, (@smallbizlady) 
– Melissa Leon, Creator of #twitterkids (@melissaleon)
– Meredith Fisher, Editorial Brand Director, Diane von Furstenberg Studio L.P. (@InsideDVF)
– Michael Ian Black (@michaelianblack)
– Michael Kupperman (@MKupperman)
– Mo Krochmal, Professor, Hofstra Univesity  (@Krochmal)
– Nancy Scola associate editor at @techPresident and inspired the Twitter Vote Report with a blog post  (@nancyscola)
– Nate Erickson, Yele Haiti (@NateErickson)  
– Nathan Levinson The Viper Room (@N8theSk8)
– Oz Sultan (@ozsultan) 
– Pat Kiernan, News Anchor, NY1 (@patkiernan)
– People StyleWatch (@StyleWatchMag)
– Peter Gregson, Cellist (@petergregson)
– Rick Borutta,  Producer, CBS Backstage LIVE (@CBSborutta)
– Rita J. King, Innovator-in-Residence, IBM Analytics Virtual Center, #SmarterWork project.  (@RitaJKing)
– Ryan Penagos, Writer / Editor at Marvel.com (@Agent_M)
– Sarah Cooley (@sarahcooley)
– Scot McKay, Dating Coach (@ScotMcKay)
– Shelly Palmer, Host of MediaBytes with Shelly Palmer, president of the Emmy Awards in NY (@shelly_palmer)
– Shira Abel (@shiraabel)
– Stacey Monk, Founder of Epic Change & TweetsGiving, (@StaceyMonk) 
– Stefanie Michaels (@adventuregirl)
– Steve Garfield, Author, Get Seen: Online Video Secrets to Building Your Business (@stevegarfield)
– Steve Greenberg, founder/CEO, S-Curve Records (@steviegpro)
– Steve Grove, Head of News and Politics at YouTube  (@grove)
– Steven Anderson, Technology Educator, Blogger, Co-Creator of #edchat, (@web20classroom)
– Tal Givoly, Chief Scientist, Amdocs (@givoly) 
– Ted Cohen, Managing Partner, TAG Stragegic (@spinaltap)
– Tish Shute (@TishShute) – “enthusiast for our networked potential to make a better world”
– Tom Brevoort, VP Marvel, (@TomBrevoortsays)
– Tom Whitby, Professor of Education in Secondary English (@tomwhitby)
– U.S. Air Force (@usairforce)

Note: Speakers are subject to change without notice. These “characters” are accurate as of: February 10, 2010.

For more information about upcoming worldwide #140conf events, please visit here.

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Want To Join My Newsletter?